Why Airports Feed My Soul

Many people find that airports are stressful and time consuming. Which yes, indeed they are… but many people including myself find that airports are actually good therapy. Who doesn’t love that feeling of being able to go to a new city or state or even country that they have never been to before. And be able to experience something completely new and different, that’s an amazing feeling!!

I think the most fun part is when you’re traveling alone and you get to wander around the massive place and waste your money in the Duty Free shop ALL ALONE! No one is bothering you and you get to do what you choose and be free. I think finding your gate is the second best part because you are in a hurry and you are full of excitement and once you find it everything becomes more real and you are about to go on an amazing trip and be able to escape your everyday life.

Dealing with anxiety, many people would find it confusing that I love airports so much. They are busy and loud and nerve-racking and they don’t seem like the place for a person dealing with anxiety. However, I find them extremely therapeutic because I have a deep passion for traveling. No one knows me and no one knows where I am going and I get to people watch and see where all these thousands upon thousands of people are going and I have no clue why. It’s absolutely fascinating. Is it for work? Do you travel often? How many airports have you been to? Vacation? Visiting family? No one has any idea why a person is leaving their everyday life to hop on an airplane and go to a new city. When you are in an airport you get to see different people of different race, ethnicity, and cultural background. You get to seek out what a person is truly like when you see them at an airport.

According to Alex Brueckner, airports symbolize new beginnings and long-awaited endings, arrivals and departures, and many hellos and goodbyes. You get a numerous different emotions while entering and exiting an airport.

I love the sounds in an airport. I like the sounds of baggage wheels clacking on the moving sidewalk, a boarding pass being torn off, and my passport being stamped. All of those are comforting reminders that I am either almost home or soon to be somewhere new and exciting.

Leave a Reply

