My Tattoos

Tattoos seem to be a big controversy. My mom has two and she still has to hide them when we see her because my grandma grew up in a time where tattoos where considered a taboo. My mom did too, she almost felt guilty getting them because she grew up being taught that they were wrong. However, now a days, tattoos are a way of expressing yourself. They are art.

When I left Mexico, I realized that I am in love with this country and it was now apart of me. When I was there I didn’t feel anxious or depressed; I felt bliss. Pure happiness.  At the time I was 18 and I knew what I needed to do. I needed to get a tattoo of something resembling Mexico. I needed it because that place is my home and I needed something to remind me of it everyday. A picture of the beach as my phone background is nice but I needed something permanent.

I got Puerto Morelos coordinates on my wrist so if I ever start to feel anxious or depressed I can always look down at my wrist or rub those coordinates and get back to having peace with myself again. It’s stupid I know but that tattoo means more to me then many people know. It has meaning and it helps me get through tough situations. That is why I love tattoos because everyone’s tattoo has a different meaning to them. And you may never know what it means, but to them it might save them.

So, here is my first tattoo.

20.8478 degrees N & 86.8755 degrees W… the place that saved me.

If any of you have a tattoo you know that they become very addicting. Once you get one you start to think about the next one you want to get. The pain from the needle is exciting and the adrenaline from getting a tattoo is exciting. So, I told myself that if you want another tattoo then that’s your choice and it’s your body so go for it!

And then…. this happened 🙂

 sorry about my ugly foot 🙂

But, I got this tattoo because the sun and the water are my happiness. Particularly, the sun and the water in Mexico. However, this has meaning to me as well and I absolutely love this one. These are my two favorite things mixed into one and I don’t think anything is more cooler than that!!

Tattoos are great, they are a way for a person to express themselves without having to explain it to anyone else. Celebrity Justin Bieber has numerous tattoos and he gets judged in the public eye every day for them. If you took the time to hear what his tattoos really mean then people would understand that he didn’t just get them for the heck of it. His tattoos help HIM get through rough situations as well.

Leave a Reply

